Un día fácil y difícil

Today has been both a hard day and an easy one.

Easy:

Nothing began until the Ash Wednesday service downstairs in the Casa at 11 a.m., so we call got a little bit of a sleep-in. It was lovely.

Hard:

Once the Ash Wednesday service was over, Lent had begun. For forty-six days, Spanish will rule my tongue and my life. Already, it has been so hard. The whole group of us constantly slips up, forgetting for moments that we’re supposed to be speaking Spanish, so that we exclaim things in English. It’s also hard because so many people in the Casa are not giving up English for Lent, and it’s hard to hear one language all around you and answer in a different one. It’s such a struggle to communicate! But I think it will get better, slowly, as we learn how to speak more quickly and, eventually, think in Spanish rather than doing the long, elaborate process of hearing Spanish words, putting them in English, thinking of an English answer, and finally translating it into Spanish.

Easy:

Because Monday and Tuesday were the official Carnaval holiday, our Latin America and the Arts teacher is still out of town, which means no classes for me today. 🙂 A group of us walked down the street to La Cigale for ice cream and then to the park a few blocks away, where we rented paddle boats for about a dollar a person for half an hour and just drifted through this twisty, shady bit of lake, watching the bunnies and ducks that were playing on the shore and enjoying the breeze. Altogether, not a bad afternoon. We wanted to go see a movie (a significantly more expensive pastime) but we’ve already seen Underworld: Rise of the Lycans and Slumdog Millionaire (which is fantastic, by the way; I thoroughly recommend it), so there was really nothing in theaters here that we wanted to spend money on.

Hard:

I’m tired. It’s getting hard to do all my classes and schoolwork, work for Lynne, stay in contact with the GATA girls, stay connected socially, and do my own personal writing and still get plenty of sleep. Also, I’m thoroughly tired of both apples and the greasy food of the pizzeria down the block, so it’s getting hard to find something to eat in the evenings. We bought groceries, but we didn’t buy enough ham, so there was only two sandwiches-worth. Dang metric system, throwing us off.

Sorry this has been such a boring post. I have so little to say these days. We’re going to Rocha this weekend, though, so I should have more to report on Monday. ¡Ciao!

~ by Sara McPherson on February 25, 2009.

4 Responses to “Un día fácil y difícil”

  1. Ah, pobrecita. Lo siento.

    I wish I knew more Spanish, but I’m too lazy to even try. I commend you and whoever is joining you in this venture.

    I wish I could see more movies. I’m flat broke and have been for months. Stupid 6 hour a week job. *grumbles*

    I’m giving up Romance for Lent (as in romantic movies, TV, music, and THOUGHTS). It’s so unbelievably hard!!!

  2. well I would like to say. Your fellow GATA’s are here to help. you need anything that i can help you with in that role and you know I can find a way to get it done. I miss you.. and if i understood spanish things would be so much easier

  3. Sara, don’t get discouraged…. We’re all praying for you, and we know you can handle it. You’ll look back at this experience, even the apples and greasy pizza part, as one of the best times in your life because every day you grow so much. Hang in there — we all love you lots!

  4. Yep. Your semester abroad will be a completely unforgettable experience. You’ll get back here and wish with all of your heart that you could have a slice of that greasy pizza and an apple. Even the horrible things won’t seem quite so horrible and sometimes you’ll even long for those “bad” experiences.

    I gave up Facebook for Lent, so you won’t see me on there for a while 😦 We should all skype some time.

    Love you, girl. And I miss you so much.

Leave a comment